Carrot Cake

This recipe is one of my all-time favourites because it’s so simple to make and tastes delicious!

Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

Ingredients

125g light brown sugar
150ml sunflower oil/olive oil
3 large eggs beaten
130g raisins (without pips)
3 med carrots, grated
200g gluten-free flour
zest of large orange
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
1 tsp baking powder

– Preheat oven to 180
– Put sugar, oil and eggs into a bowl and mix
– Stir in grated carrots, orange zest and raisins
– Sift in dry flour, bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon, grated nutmeg
– stir gently to combine.
– Oil base and sides of 2lb loaf or square tin and add mix.

Bake for 45-55 mins.
Once cooked cool for 5 mins then turn out to cool completely.

Recipe posted by Piglet in Portugal

6 responses to “Carrot Cake

  1. Pingback: Raisins – I “wonder” why they have pips? | Piglet in Portugal

  2. Pingback: Raisins – I “wonder” why they have pips? | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  3. I bought some soy flour – gluten free – for a friend who is sensitive to gluten. I hope this will work that as I think he would love this!

  4. Hi WFM
    I don’t know what type of flour I used – I only know it was gluten free! This cake is pretty forgiving so as long as you add the baking powder so it rises
    I can’t see it would make any difference 🙂 The original recipe used self raising flour; I adapted it and you can see the result! I would be interested to know how the soy flour worked for you. 🙂

  5. PiP, the bread looks delicious. I can imagine your chagrin when you realized you’d popped seeded raisins into your mix. By the way, I am unfamiliar with the word pip used to mean seed. I love it. And, it gives new meaning to your acronym!

    • That’s interesting we call anything in fruit etc pips, as opposed to seeds. However, in Portugal they also call them seeds, but I thought that was just a translation problem. Interesting in the US you should call them the same!

      The carrot cake IS delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

