Simple Sultana Loaf

We went to a friend’s house to celebrate their Wedding anniversary and I was horrified to see a tempting selection of very “naughty” cakes on offer. Could I resist? Would I succumb to temptation? I certainly felt tempted, very tempted! I then spotted this innocuous looking cake – a Sultana Loaf. I questioned my friend at length as to the ingredients and discovered it was fat-free. My only “sin” was a little gluten in the flour. The sultana loaf proved delicious, she kindly shared the recipe and I baked it today.

Fat Free Sultana Loaf

Fat Free Sultana Loaf

Ingredients

180 ml cold black tea
225gr sultanas
225gr self-raising flour (I used gluten-free and 1 teaspoons of baking powder)
150 gr brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 XL egg (I used 2 small)

2lb (900gr) loaf tin (greased – I used corn oil)
Oven 180C (350F or gas mark 4)

The day before

Put cold tea in a bowl, add sultanas and leave to soak overnight.
The sultanas will then plump up and absorb the tea.

The following day

Sift flour. Add flour, salt and sugar to the sultanas.
Beat egg(s) and stir into mixture.
Spoon mixture into loaf tin and spread out evenly.
Bake on the middle shelf for about one hour. I tested with a skewer after 45 minutes and my loaf was cooked.
Release from tin and turn out onto wire cooling tray. Leave the tin over the cake for 30minutes. Remove tin and allow the loaf to cool.

Serve in slices and spread with homemade jam or dairy-free spread.

The loaf improves if left a day or so.

ENJOY!

5 responses to “Simple Sultana Loaf

  1. Looks yummy. Will have to try this as it looks like it would be tasty served with hot cider!

  2. mmm this looks good. A few questions: is black tea like English breakfast tea? I’m not a tea drinker so am not sure?
    Also, what type of gluten free flour did you use? I have rice flour and chick pea flour and find that the consistency is very different to corn flour for example.

  3. Good questions.
    by black tea I mean tea without milk in it. Normal breakfast tea.
    The flour is Doves farm. Yes, I found some flour in Intermarche which was English!
    It is a flour blend milled from naturally gluten and wheatfree rice potato, tapiaoca, maize and buckwheat.
    If flours vary, you may have to add more liquid. I’ve struggled to buy gluten free flour in Portugal. What was the name of the flour I bought in France – was it Sphelt?
    PiP

  4. Pingback: A Boozy Sultana & Cherry Cake « Kerrys Recipes

Leave a Reply

